Jesus does not care if you get to the pit-stop first.
I hate the Weaver family. I hate them so very much.
Yes, I watch the Amazing Race. I watch a lot of television. I’m unemployed and it’s gotten cold outside. If you have a better suggestion, shoot. Today, I am working for the day at my old job. I have nothing to do. So I have decided bitching about a television show would be the most productive use of my time. Anyway, mock if you will, but I think it’s a spiffy show. It certainly trumps most other reality tv crap.
However, this season of this normally spiffy show is the “Family Edition.” Ick. Who wants to watch a version of the show full of little kids in which contestants rarely leave the US? I was less than excited about it, but decided to give it a try. Again, unemployed – what the hell else am I going to do?
Turns out the only two really young kids on the show (under 10ish) are two of my favorite contestants. They’re some of the best athletes – they run marathons with their parents in real life (and yet somehow, I STILL like the crazy little bastards) – and, more importantly, they don’t complain. In fact, the little girl seems to have the ability to spot anything in the distance and the boy is quite a funny little dude. (“She’ll be comin’ ‘round the mountain when she comes – WHEN SHE COMES!!!”)
My problem is the Jesus family. I, along with what seems to be every other contestant on the show, find them to be vile humans with absolutely no redeeming qualities. Yes, dad died in a horrible accident in the year or so before the show. I’m not a completely heartless demon – I’m sorry your daddy got run over by a race-car; I’m sure he loved you. Now shut up – no one else does.
My problem with the Weavers from Florida is they are a group of selfish Jesus-lovers who have no problem being rude and mean to others but get horribly offended when a similar lack of love is returned to them. Now, I will preface the rest of my ranting with the admission that I, myself, am not much of a Jesus person. I’m sure he was a swell dude. I just prefer to sleep and watch Best Week Ever on Sunday mornings. However, I’m all for others having a Jesus party – just don’t get mad when I don’t want to partake in the metaphorical Kool-Aid. Now, I’m also okay with some Jesus talk - I spent a semester in Kenya where REALLY missionaries accomplished their goals– Kenyans love them some Jesus.
Anyway, my point is that I do not hate the Weavers because they like Jesus. I hate them because they are incapable of talking about anything else. They ask Jesus to help them on every mission and believe that he is the reason they de-headed shrimps faster than another team. Like Jesus has nothing better to do than help a family of dumb blonds decapitate mollusks for a game show.
They are also rude. They won’t even speak to other teams, they sang for an entire 8 hour bus ride and annoyed everyone else and last night they told another teams’ boat captain to drive slower so they could get ahead. If this were all, I would be fine with it. It’s a game, be rude. Boston Rob and Amber almost won last year by scamming and lying and I thought they were great – it’s a game! But these people are rude to everyone and then surprised as hell (I’m sorry, heck) when it comes back to them. They were appalled last night when another team started in with “hey, batter batter…” as the Jesus son was attempting to hit a baseball at a challenge. The mom told the other team that “that’s mean, you should just be encouraging.” The son had to be at least 13. If a little taunt like that is going to mess him up and make him cry, I certainly hope he likes getting thrown into lockers and giving away lunch money. Grow a pair, kid!
I truly wanted to smack them when they got into a cab in Panama. They greeted the driver with “hola!” which is super. Good effort, I thought. Not so fast... They then added, “burrito!” and “conquistador!” I’m fairly certain they were not trying to begin a debate with the driver about the favorite snack food of Vasco Nuñez de Balboa, so I took it as them being assholes. I bet the driver agreed with me.
So, you see, I hate the Weaver family. Perhaps next time I will find something more cerebral to write about. Or I may contemplate the many uses of bubble wrap. I shall leave that decision until later. For now, I just hate the Weavers.
Jesus hopes you lose. And so do I.

5 Comments:
i think it would be very entertaining, if in a future episode, when they called upon their lord and savior for assistance in finding the way to a town they can't pronounce, he/she would instead decide to smite them...
that would make me a believer.
Maybe he could drown them in Lake Pontchartrain - "one of the great lakes." Idiots.
you mean it's not?!?!?!
dang! i needs to get me a whole new globe.
yeah... but it's a great resevoir.
Honey, you'd hate the South. Those jumpin-jack Weaver's are everywhere.
Post a Comment
<< Home